Skip to main content

Undergraduate Sociology Advisers

Evanston (IL) – August 31, 2020.

A team of four or five faculty advisors in the Department of Sociology is normally available to guide majors and minors in their selection of courses and to inform students of academic and professional opportunities available to them. Sociology advisors may also approve course substitutions and help determine graduation credits. 

However, in light of Northwestern’s updated plans for the Fall Quarter, we have restructured our advising system to make sure that all of our majors and minors have access to timely and informative advising.

Students needing to speak with an advisor are encouraged in the first instance to reach out to Prof. Chen. Prof. Chen’s regular office hours will be held Mondays and Tuesdays, 2-4 pm (CDT/CST). You can sign up for his office hours by clicking here, or by clicking on the link provided below. You will be sent a Meeting ID for Zoom after you sign up.

If you cannot make Prof. Chen’s regular office hours, please reach out to him by e-mail for an appointment that would fit your schedule better. Click here to e-mail him.

If you would prefer to speak to another advisor for any reason, you should feel free to reach out to them. Their contact information is listed below.

The department will return to its normal advising system in the future.

Thank you for your understanding, and please take care.

Fall 2020

FACULTY ADVISERS Mon. Tues. Wed. Thurs. Fri.
Anthony Chen
anthony-chen@northwestern.edu

**sign-up required**

Jean Clipperton
jean.clipperton@northwestern.edu

David Schieber
david.schieber@northwestern.edu

Karrie Snyder
karrie-snyder@northwestern.edu

Gary Fine
g-fine@northwestern.edu 

 

 

 

Al Hunter
ahunter@northwestern.edu 

Back to top